Dragon mural on brick wall

Honesty in the heart, knowledge in the mind, strength in the body.

We are Kansas City’s first martial arts school, with nearly 50 years of practice under our belt. Situated in the historic Westport district, we pride ourselves in empowering students at all experience levels with our values of honesty, courtesy, respect and discipline.

Get Started!

Kenpo Karate

Discipline. Confidence. Respect. Focus. Clarity. Stress Management. Emotional Balance. Strength. Flexibility. Endurance. Coordination. Reflexes.

We are the longest running Kenpo Karate School in KC, with programs both for adults and kids. Learn self-defense and meditation through martial arts training and philosophy.

MORE

Little Dragons

Confidence. Respect for others. Discipline Focus, Listening skills, and Following instructions. Strength, Coordination, Flexibility

Our Little Dragons program is perfect for introducing your young child to martial arts! Classes are active, engaging, and provide a structured environment for your child to learn basic karate curriculum and quality life skills.

MORE

Tai Chi Chi Kung

Discipline. Confidence. Respect. Focus. Clarity. Stress Management. Emotional Balance. Strength. Flexibility. Endurance. Coordination. Reflexes.

Tai Chi Chi Kung is an art that you can learn at any age and practice for the rest of your life! Our program is an integrative study of Meditation, Energy balance, Body systems of healing, and Martial Knowledge.

MORE

Workshops & Birthday Parties

Plan a Karate birthday party with us for your child or for yourself. Fitness, culture, and fun all rolled into one for a party with a punch!

Want to plan a private Self-defense or Tai Chi workshop for your friends or your business? We offer a variety of workshops for ALL ages in Self-defense, Tai Chi, and meditation.

MORE

Honesty

Courtesy

Respect

Discipline

Events

Want to plan a birthday party?

MORE

Belt Evaluation

Thursday July 26, 2018 at 7:00 PM

Belt Graduation

Saturday July 28, 2018 at 12:30 PM

Summer Break

Monday July 30, 2018 at 12:00 AM

School closed until August 4th

Belt Evaluation

Thursday August 23, 2018 at 7:00 PM

Belt Graduation

Saturday August 25, 2018 at 12:30 PM

Back to School Sale

Wednesday August 15, 2018 at 12:00 AM

August 15-30, 15% off all uniforms and AKKA t-shirts!

Labor Day

Monday September 3, 2018 at 12:00 AM

School Closed

STORM Performance

Saturday September 8, 2018 at 12:00 PM

At Art Westport

Black Belt Fundraiser Tournament

Saturday September 22, 2018 at 2:00 PM

2pm to 4pm

School Pictures

Sunday September 16, 2018 at 9:00 AM

AKKA Organizational Black Belt Meeting

Thursday November 1, 2018 at 9:00 AM

AKKA Westport Thursday morning meditation class is cancelled.

Belt Evaluation

Thursday September 27, 2018 at 7:00 PM

Belt Graduation

Saturday September 29, 2018 at 12:30 PM

AKKA Tournament

Saturday October 13, 2018 at 10:00 AM

October Sale

Monday October 1, 2018 at 12:00 AM

15% off all sparring gear for the month of October!

Kata Kranks Begins

Thursday October 11, 2018 at 12:00 AM

Movie Night

Friday October 19, 2018 at 6:30 PM

Belt Evaluation

Thursday October 25, 2018 at 7:00 PM

Belt Graduation

Saturday October 27, 2018 at 12:30 PM

Halloween

Wednesday October 31, 2018 at 12:00 AM

School closed

Holiday Sale

Monday November 5, 2018 at 12:00 AM

Ends December 5th

Belt Evaluation

Thursday November 8, 2018 at 7:00 PM

Belt Graduation

Saturday November 10, 2018 at 12:30 PM

Black Belt Pre-Test

Saturday November 17, 2018 at 8:30 AM

Thanksgiving

Thursday November 22, 2018 at 12:00 AM

School closed

Thanksgiving

Friday November 23, 2018 at 12:00 AM

School closed

Little Tiger, Little Crane Workshop

Saturday November 24, 2018 at 9:30 AM

9:30am to 12:00pm

Black Belt Testing

Friday November 30, 2018 at 9:00 AM

November 30th until December 1st, no classes

Holiday Break

Monday December 24, 2018 at 12:00 AM

December 24th until January 1st, school closed. Reopens on January 2nd.

AKKA Organizational Black Belt Class

Thursday November 29, 2018 at 9:00 AM

AKKA Organizational class for black belts with Mr. Gibbins. No Thursday morning meditaton class.

Meditation Workshop

Saturday September 1, 2018 at 3:00 AM

3pm-7pm For all levels- beginners to advanced.

Interested in knowing more or setting up your first FREE class?

Telephone
Interest